BSP leader accuses BJP of foul play in RS polls

Adjust Comment Print

The defeat of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate, Bhimrao Ambedkar, in the Rajya Sabha election from Uttar Pradesh has turned out to be a major setback for the SP-BSP alliance, according to political observers.

Further, recent SP defector-turned-BJP member Naresh Agarwal's son Nitin, still an SP MLA, may probably cross-vote for BJP.

Thirty-three candidates from ten States, including Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh and Odisha had already been declared elected unopposed on March 15.

The victor not only got the votes of 49 BJP MLAs but also the vote of BSP MLA Keshav Chandra and an independent MLA Vimal Chopra.

Students "March For Our Lives" with calls to end gun violence
The march is expected to draw students, parents, and "anyone else who wants to come", she added. If there's an opportunity for my voice to be heard, to do something, I'm going to take that.

The BJP, which earlier held 54 seats in the Rajya Sabha, has now increased its standing to 69 seats in the House.

The replacement of retiring Rajya Sabha members is also important because it is happening when Opposition parties are scrambling to band together for next year's general elections, following BJP's loss in three Lok Sabha by-elections on Wednesday. They exerted all their force to ensure that the BSP candidate does not win at any cost. The tenth seat was bagged by Jaya Bachchan of Samajwadi Party.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 9 out of 10 Rajya Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh while SP won only one. B Prakash Mudiraj, J Santosh Kumar and B Lingaiah Yadav were elected to the Upper House.

Her own party legislator Anil Singh, however, threw a spanner in her calculations as he voted on the voice of the "antaratma" (inner voice) and sided with the BJP.

Angela Merkel rebukes far-right, own party over migration
Merkel acknowledged that the debate about migration and integration has " divided and polarized our country to this day ". Merkel said Germany fully supported Ireland's position on the matter. "We also condemn that in the strongest terms".

The BJP, by gaining 11 seats, has increased its strength in the upper house compared to the Congress, but still majority will elude the NDA and to pass crucial legislation its dependence on parties like AIADMK, BJD and others will continue especially after ally TDP walked out. The seven include three votes from BSR Congress, one from KJP and three independents who joined the BJP recently. The BSP had made senior party leader Satish Chandra Misra as his poll agent while Shailendra Yadav of the SP is the polling agent, state parliamentary affairs minister Suresh Kumar Khanna is the polling agent of the ruling BJP. While in West Bengal.

Though Agarwal received only 16 first preference votes against 33 notched by BSP's Ambedkar, the saffron candidate went through because of the huge number of second preference votes: a factor which acquires critical importance in such fluid situations. The Congress' winners are Syed Naseer Hussain and L Hanumanthaiah.

A bypoll will also be held for one seat in Kerala where M P Veerendra Kumar, the Left-backed candidate of Sharad Yadav faction of the JD (U), is pitted against Babu Prasad of the Congress. In Karnataka, Congress turned the tables after it managed to secure votes of some JD (S) MLAs and independents that led to victory of its third candidate.

The ruling BJP won one seat and the second, went to Congress' Dheeraj Sahu.

Futures lower on unsettled global markets as trade war fears escalate
Brent crude, the worldwide standard for oil prices, added $1.54, or 2.2 percent, to $70.45 a barrel in London. Dow futures fell 0.4 per cent to 23,859.00 and broader S&P/500 futures were down 0.3 per cent to 2,636.70.

The Rajya Sabha election was supposedly a test for the alliance.