Rajya Sabha polls 2018: Full list of candidates

Adjust Comment Print

Congress on Monday nominated senior journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) nominated state women's commission president Vijaya Rahatkar's name for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls.

Union minister Prakash Javadekar and sitting Rajya Sabha members Anil Desai (Shiv Sena) and Vandana Chavan (NCP) filed their papers last week.

Meanwhile, the BJP has named two-time independent member of the Rajya Sabha from the State and media entrepreneur Rajeev Chandrashekar as the party's sole candidate.

Manoj Jha, a Professor at Delhi University, is the national spokesperson of RJD, and Ashfaque Karim is the Managing Director of the Katihar Medical College and Hospital in Bihar. Polling will be held on 23 March and the results are expected to be declared the same evening.

Death penalty for drug dealers? Count Trump in
At least for one more day, the hills of southwestern Pennsylvania are alive with the sound of campaign cash. Republicans have tried to paint Lamb as a lackey for national Democrats who are unpopular in the district.

BJP spokesman GVL Narasimha Rao will be party's Rajya Sabha candidate from UP. Three nominated members - actor Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and social worker Anu Aga - will also retire then.

The Congress has fielded L Hanumanthaiah, Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrasekhar from Karnataka.

Senior lawyer and Congress spokesman Abhishek Manu Singvi filed his nomination from West Bengal with the support of the state's ruling TMC.

Shiv Sena nominated one candidate while BJP nominated four of its candidates.

Kenya Sevens puts nation on world map with stellar performance
It was the Fijians this time around to slay the Kenyans whom they had earlier beaten 24-21 in the pool stage at Canada Sevens . South Africa claimed the bronze medal after a 29-7 thrashing of the US - who had opted to rest a whole host of stars.

Talking to mediapersons, union petroleum and natural gas minister Dharmendra Pradhan said Madhya Pradesh is the laboratory of public welfare programmes where they are conceived and enforced first.

Rest two candidates filed their nomination papers as Independent.

Other key candidates include a retired Lt. Gen. close to Congress' ex-Haryana CM Hooda, and two of its own general secretaries.

All six candidates are contesting without any opposition so their election is a foregone conclusion. "This might split the votes of Congress MLAs". Mainly because, the JD (S) had been counting on the Congress Party's support towards their candidate, BM Farookh, which was shattered away, after the Congress party announced their choice of candidates as nominees to win seat from Karnataka.

Trinamool to support Congress' Abhishek Manu Singhvi in Rajya Sabha polls
Ms Banerjee had yesterday announced that her party would support Mr Singhvi in the Rajya Sabha polls from the state. The Trinamool Congress chief also met senior NCP leader Praful Patel to discuss the formation of a federal front.

However, state Congress President Bharatsinh Solanki said both Yagnik and Rathwa would win their seats.